a

The leading provider of nurse delegation and education.

+ 509-466-0216

info@nurse-delagation.com
8605 N Division, Suite A, Spokane, WA 992018

Mon-Fri 8am-2pm - by phone until 5pm

Saturday and Sunday - CLOSED

Follow
 

Education

Important note

Please pay for all classes in advance; to pay by phone call 509-466-0216 or 509-319-6099 or send your payment along with student’s name to:

Mailing address:
Empowering People
12402 N. Division #291
Spokane, WA 99218

Physical location:
8605 N Division, Suite A
Spokane WA, 99208

Empowering People Teaching Schedule 2019-2020

Registration is by e-mail, text or phone.
Please include your full name, contact phone, email address and method of payment.

Send email to: empoweringclassroom@gmail.com or call/text 509-319-6099 (Education line)

Many new classes!
We are working to offer classes when you need them.

2020 dates are now available for booking.

2019 - 2020 Dates

Nurse Delegation Core Training

Tues, December 17(8 am - 5 pm)
Fri, January 10(8 a.m. - 5 p.m.)
Mon, January 27(8 am - 5 pm)
Thurs, February 6(8 am - 5 pm)
Mon, February 24(8 am - 5 pm)
Fri, February 28(8 am - 5 pm)
Thu, March 5(8 am - 5 pm)
Fri, March 13(8 am - 5 pm)
Mon, March 30(8 am - 5 pm)
Thu, April 2(8 am - 5 pm)
Fri, April 10(8 am - 5 pm)
Thu, April 23(8 am - 5 pm)
Mon, May 4(8 am - 5 pm)
Thu, May 7(8 am - 5 pm)
Fri, May 15(8 am - 5 pm)
Thu, June 4(8 am - 5 pm)
Fri, June 12(8 am - 5 pm)
Thu, June 25(8 am - 5 pm)
NDCT class fee: $40

Dementia for Managers & Caregivers

Wed, November 20 - FULL(8 am - 5 pm)
Wed, December 11(8 am - 5 pm)
Wed, January 15(8 am - 5 pm)
Wed, February 19(8 am - 5 pm)
Wed, March 25(8 am - 5 pm)
Wed, April 15(8 am - 5 pm)
Wed, May 20(8 am - 5 pm)
Wed, June 17(8 am - 5 pm)
Dementia class fee: $100

Mental Health for Managers & Caregivers

Thurs, November 21(8 am - 5 pm)
Thurs, December 19(8 am - 5 pm)
Thurs, January 16(8 am - 5 pm)
Thurs, February 20(8 am - 5 pm)
Thursday, March 26(8 am - 5 pm)
Thurs, April 16(8 am - 5 pm)
Thurs, May 21(8 am - 5 pm)
Thurs, June 18(8 am - 5 pm)
Mental Health class fee: $100

Core Basic Training

HCA in-class Skills Training

The Skills course is two back-to-back days of hands-on skills training – both days must be attended

December 2 and 3 (Monday and Tuesday)
8 am – 5 pm – FULL

January 22 and 23 (Wednesday and Thursday)
8 am – 5 pm

February 12 and 13 (Wednesday and Thursday)
8 am – 5 pm

75 Hour Home Care Aide (HCA) Training includes

  • 5 hours orientation & safety (online)
  • 38 hours HCA training (online)
  • 16 hours in-class skills training
  • Population specific training: 8 hours dementia & 8 hours mental health

Cost $450 ($350 if you do not need dementia & mental health and have the 8 hour completion certificates for each course)

Skills refresher class can be taken for $100               

Self study available:
Nurse Delegation Diabetes  –  Cost $25
Nurse Delegation Core Training Classroom or Self-Study  –  Cost $40

Call, email or text the education line for  dates: 509-319-6099 or empoweringclassroom@gmail.com

Course Descriptions

Nurse Delegation for Caregivers

This is a 9 hour course available for all caregivers who might assume the role of delegation of specific nursing tasks. A registered nurse may delegate these tasks but maintains the overall responsibility for care. This course is divided into three units, each describing separate aspects of nurse delegation. Upon completion of the course, the caregiver has a basic understanding of the complexity of delegated tasks. The caregiver must also have a state certificate for NAR, NAC, or HCA and meet independently with their nurse delegator before they are delegated. The course is taught from the state approved curriculum and Empowering People are state approved instructors for this course. The course can either be taken self-study or in the classroom setting. Supported Living employees take the classroom setting course. A passing grade is required for certification to be issued.

Nurse Delegation Special Focus on Diabetes

This is a 3 hour self-study course available for all caregivers who might participate in the delegated task of administering insulin injections; it is preferred, but not mandatory, that the applicant has passed Nurse Delegation Core Training before undergoing Specialty training in Diabetes. The course uses the state approved curriculum. A passing grade is required for certification to be issued.

Dementia Specialty Training for Caregivers and Managers

This is an 8 hour course of instruction required by ADSA; DSHS, State of Washington. This course is for all Providers (Caregivers and Managers) who are enrolled in HCA training at Empowering People or who are working in a facility which has a Dementia resident(s) on site. It provides comprehensive training in the specialized care of the Dementia resident. The curriculum used is approved by ADSA; DSHS, State of Washington, and the Dementia written exam is administered after the course. A passing grade is required for certification to be issued.

Mental Health Specialty Training for Caregivers and Managers

This is an 8 hour course of instruction required by ADSA; DSHS, State of Washington. This course is for all Providers (Caregivers and Managers) who are enrolled in HCA training at Empowering People or who are working in a facility which has Mental Health resident(s) in residence. It provides comprehensive training in the specialized care of the Mental Health resident. The curriculum used is approved by ADSA; DSHS, State of Washington, and the Mental Health written exam is administered after the course. A passing grade is required for certification to be issued.